Inspiration? I don’t think so, but what do I know.

I had a conversation the other day with the ex-Volunteer Coordinator at the local Canadian Cancer Society office, she told me that I am an inspiration. I feel awkward when people tell me that, because I don’t see the things that I do as anything special. I am a stubborn person, and I rather smile than frown. To me, this seems logical.
She explained to me that for her, seeing me giving back (through my volunteer work) through being sick & doing my Chemo, she re-evaluates the difficulties in her own life that are so much less, than mine. Again, this makes me feel awkward, because, yes, I have cancer, but it isn’t a difficult cancer (in my opinion). I have met SO many people who have had worse cancers than mine, and I can understand when they are depressed or down, to me, I feel like I’m whining about nothing, in comparison, when I do whine and complain.

I feel like I have something to live up to, when people tell me that I am an inspiration or that I am an “amazing woman”. I don’t think I am, I’m just me. I know so many others who deserve the “title” of Inspirational or Amazing. I feel uncomfortable & awkward when people come to me saying these things, but I have learned to graciously say “Thank you”, because I realized that they sometimes need someone else to look at, to compare their problems to, in order to keep them in perspective.

I think everyone has such varying degrees of difficulty in their lives, and as they say, God does not give us more than we can handle. I am not an overly religious person, but I have my beliefs, and they do me well ☺

A couple years ago, I heard the quote from Joan of Arc: “It was for this that I was born!” I believe that we all have a reason for being born, no matter how small or extravagant our purpose. We may go our entire lives never knowing our “reason for being”… but that doesn’t mean we have no reason. Our reason may only be to slightly assist someone else with their purpose, and that is more important than we’ll ever know. The significance of our being may not be made known until years after we no longer exist, but make no mistake, your existence is important — often in more ways that any single person will ever realize.
So maybe, this is for what I was born

Leave a Reply

