Wrapping up our visit

My daughter arrived in Canada (my kids live with their dad in Kansas) on June 15th. My boyfriend and I picked her up from her grandma’s house. That Friday, we volunteered at the local Relay for Life, we managed to stay on our feet & working for 15 hours!
The following Saturday, we went to the Toronto zoo with my sister, niece & mom. It was a rainy day, but it was a good day. We had a great time, lots of pictures taken.

I have been off work (as some know) for almost 4 years, with my Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. I am on my 3rd bout of cancer in this time. The first time was in 2001; remission until 2006… and here I am, still fighting.
In this time, I have been doing a lot of crocheting. I have given most of these items away as gifts to friends & family. I have donated a lot to various groups as well; some to raise money for Breast Cancer Research, some to help the less fortunate, some to help abandoned cats.

My daughter loves to do arts & crafts. I have a large plastic bin labeled “Craft Supplies“, which she has kept handy in the living room, and has made various crafts. She has used paint, yarn, paper, pencils, canvas, among so many other mediums. I have some of her work hanging in my apartment, from years past, I have used the small hallway leading to her room (which is the craft room, when she’s not here), to display her work.

She is one of my greatest fans. I appreciate the support she shows me. She is also a great caregiver. When I am going through my treatments — and even when I’m not — she keeps an eye on me. She makes sure I’m taking any medications I need; she gets things for me, when I haven’t got the energy. She is still a teenager, and will moan and groan when I ask her to pick up her clothes or put away the dishes; but that is when I’m feeling OK.

This is the end of our visit. She heads back to Kansas August 4th, and will be spending the prior week with extended family. This is when I usually get rather depressed. But this time, I think it won’t bother me as much, because I will be meeting my daughter down there on the 4th. My son didn’t come up this summer, because he wanted to spend more time with his girlfriend, and he was also taking Diver’s Ed. So I get to go down there to spend a week with them.

My kids are what keep me positive in my life, even though I have been off work for almost 4 years (living on a tight budget), I have been battling this cancer for the past 4 years (not including the initial diagnosis), I live alone in a basement apartment, I only get to see the kids twice a year. Things in my life aren’t ideal, but I have learned to make the best of what I have, and appreciate the little things.

Leave a Reply

